Pressing Forward in Victory

Image

“Depart from evil and do good; Seek peace and pursue it.” Psalm 34:14

There have been so many changes in my life over the past year. I’ve had many emotional ups and downs that no one could know but those close to me and God. Today, things are good and the heavy clouds have been lifted. Now that the clouds have dissipated, I find that there are other things that I have to work out of my life. You see, I desire to live a clean spiritually healthy life. Yes, I know that conditions will not always be favorable, but my desire is to please Him [Jesus] and to show Him that I love Him. In John 14:15 Jesus says that “if you love me, keep my commandments.”  Simple? No, it hasn’t been simple for me. I found myself slipping into old habits and not reading the Word as I should. I wasn’t praying as I should. This caused me to become spiritually weak and opened to the wiles of the enemy.

So, I had to get back to God. I had to turn my back on my own selfish, spiritually destructive ways and turn to God.  In other words, I had to deny self. I’m sharing this not because I have arrived, but because I am still striving as I type this message. We have to continue to seek the Lord in these last days. We have to turn our back on the “old man” and receive the “new man” that God has transformed us into. (Ephesians 4:22-24). Keep on pushing and keep on praying. There is a breakthrough headed your way. God loves you and he knows that this earthly flesh is weak. However, in the final analysis we must work out our “own salvation with fear and trembling” (Philippians 2:12).

We must “press toward the mark for the prize of the high calling of God in Christ Jesus” (Philippians 3:14). That’s my goal. Let us move onward and upward in Christ Jesus. Amen.

Leave a Reply

