To Give and Forgive

Forgive me father.  After I leave the college for the afternoon, I sometime stop at the local café to get a cup of coffee.    Whenever I go, I see a young man, who seems fit and he seems to have his mind.  In other words, there seems to be no sign of mental illness.  Nevertheless, he hangs around the coffee shop and he asks for money.  I have given him money on occasion, and I have also witnessed to him about the goodness of Christ.  He began to speak of the religion he believes and questioned my belief in Christ as Lord and Savior.  I patiently explained to him my reason for the hope that is in me.  He shied away for a while but soon began to ask again for money.  After a while, his daily encounters and request for money became somewhat of a burden.  I began to feel as if I were paying a toll every time I saw him. 

This situation soon caused me to become resentful of this man; now, I will not give him any money.  I simply reply with “no.”  This doesn’t seem to bother him because there are others who will give.  However, this situation has caused me to look at self.  I like to think of myself as someone who is led by the Spirit, so I refuse to feel guilty.  However, I pray that God will continue to give me wisdom and continue to guide me in my thoughts and words.  I pray that I will approach others and treat them with the love of Christ — The love that God has poured inside of me.

Also, I pray for that brother – I pray that he also receives wisdom.  I pray that God will help him out of the limitations that seem to hold him captive and in poverty.  Finally, I pray that God will forgive me for judging him in my heart.  Again, Father, please forgive me.  I have no right to decide who should or shouldn’t ask for money.  In Jesus’ name.  Amen. 

Note:  I welcome any comments about your experiences with giving and how God taught you something through those experiences.  Enjoy your weekend.  Peace~

Leave a Reply

