Hearer and Doer

 

“Study to show thyself approved unto God…”  Whenever I read the announcements in church, this scripture from the book of 2 Timothy (2 Timothy 2:15) is said in reference to Wednesday night Bible Study.  I can remember a time when I didn’t go to Bible Study.  I only have to think back 6 years; back then, I didn’t read the word for myself. 

I depended on a pastor or minister to do it for me.  In other words, I went to church to “get that word.”  I get a shot of that word, felt good, and went back to my weekly routine that usually involved sinful acts.  The other problem was that I often was unable to tell you what “that word” was if you asked me 2 hours after service.  The Word fell on stony ground, among thorns, etc. (Matthew 13:1-23).  I heard, but I didn’t practice or internalize what was going into my ears.  As the saying goes, it went through one ear and out the other. 

 When are we going to grow up (spiritually) and become “doers” of the Word? (James 1:22-25)  We can’t go on deceiving ourselves week to week when we know that our lives are not in accordance to the Word of God.  Besides, the Word is our reference manual of how we should live as Born-Again Christians.  We cannot simply be “Christians.”  We must be born again in the Spirit (John 3:3).  

In other words, we must accept Christ as our Lord and Savior. Afterwards, our daily goal must be to speak, live, and walk as Christ did.  He said in His word, “…be ye holy, for I am holy” (1 Peter 1:16).  So, let us strive for consistency and live a life that pleasing to God (Psalm 19:14).  I pray that we all will become doers of His Word.  This means that we will take some time everyday to study His Word.  In doing this, we will grow and mature.  Also, it will give us the opportunity to share with others God’s living Word.  We can start by looking up the highlighted scriptures in this text.  Please share with us what the Holy Spirit has revealed to you.  Peace and Blessings to you. Amen.

2 thoughts on “Hearer and Doer

  1. This is an excellent piece, Brother! Striving Everyday to do this! Praises to God in advance for the victory!

  2. Amen, Robin. Amen. This is my daily goal – “I press toward the mark for the prize of the high calling of God in Christ Jesus.” I desire to run a good race. Always a pleasure, Robin.

Leave a Reply

