Writing is Divine

By: S Bess

One morning, as I was riding the subway train to work in Washington, D.C., I had a thought concerning the written word.  In my head, I heard the words, “Writing is divine.”  Those words were repeated in my head as the train moved from station to station.  As I continued on my journey, my thoughts soon moved towards God, and it was revealed to me that writing is one of the many gifts that God gives to man.

The revelation is that writing, in the spiritual realm, is divine!  Exciting, right?   This is especially true when one looks at the Holy Scriptures.  For example, the Bible was written by men who were moved by God (2 Peter 1:21); they felt a divine purpose to spread the word of truth through the Holy Spirit; they were ordained to write the Word.  That’s it!  It is the “Word” that is so divine – the written and the spoken word.

I really like what the author, Reverend William A. Jones, Jr. said about the written word in his book, God In The Ghetto.  He states:

“…My God’s writing all the time. But there are times when God writes in big, bold characters with powerful punctuation marks.  Then, Reverend Jones asks the question, “…can we read it?” 

I see writing as an imitation of the divine.  In writing, we are attempting to stimulate, inspire, or excite our readers with the creative formation of words.  Ontologically, it explores the very basis of human existence because it was, at one time, one of our limited forms of communication.

One thought on “Writing is Divine

Leave a Reply

