For God so loved the world…

 

 

God by SBessJohn 3:16  “For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life.”

 

 Before I became a born-again Believer, I remember feeling that I didn’t want to be “saved” until I was finished having my fun, or when I was “clean” enough to present myself to God.  Yes, I was wrong.  First, I didn’t know that it was not me who chose Him, but rather, He chose me.  As it says in His word, “…many are called, but few are chosen” (Matthew 22:14). You see, I didn’t feel in my heart that I could stop sinning, but I didn’t realize that He sent His only son to save me from sin.  The Word describes Him as the second Adam sent to redeem the world from sin:  “For as in Adam all die, so in Christ all will be made alive” (1 Corinthians 15:22).  Also:  “The first man Adam became a living being”; the last Adam, a life-giving spirit” (1 Corinthians 15:45).

I thank God for all He has done.  He sent His only Son – The Great Redeemer – to save us from sin. It is because of Him that we are able to have eternal life long after this world has passed away. So, don’t worry about how you look right now, what you’ve done, or how bad your life seems. He will take you just as you are.  If you’re serious about getting to know Jesus Christ as your personal savior, then He will start by forgetting all that you’ve ever done.  Yes, you will fall short of His glory again – we all do, but remember that it is your old nature that desires sin, and not the new man who has been cleansed from all unrighteousness.  The word says that “If we confess our sins, he is faithful and just to forgive us our sins, and to cleanse us from all unrighteousness” (1 John 1:9 ).

So, it is important to study the word of God (Bible) and keep your mind on Jesus:  “Those who live according to the sinful nature have their minds set on what that nature desires; but those who live in accordance with the Spirit have their minds set on what the Spirit desires.” (Romans 8:5 — New International version).  You can do this by saturating your mind with His word and pray without ceasing.   Furthermore, whether you have never given your life to Christ or you are a backslider returning to Him remember that He is waiting for you with open arms.  Peace~

Leave a Reply

