The Compassion of Christ

By: Stephen Bess
By: Stephen Bess

I was on the subway train this morning thinking about the compassion of Christ.  In Matthew 9:36, the Bible describes a scene where Jesus looks upon the crowd and is filled with compassion:  “But when he saw the multitudes, he was moved with compassion on them, because they fainted, and were scattered abroad, as sheep having no shepherd.”  However, there are times when I look at people and my feelings are either indifferent or I’m offended by their very presense. 

I pray that God will correct this in me and fill me with His compassion.  I want to feel that same compassion as Christ felt when He walked the Earth as a man.  I want His compassion because He said that we should all love one another as He has loved us (John 13:34).  As Christians, our goal in life should be to be and walk as Christ walked.  In other words, we should strive for holiness:  1 Peter 1:16  “Because it is written, Be ye holy; for I am holy.”  No, this is no easy task, but remember that we can do all things through Christ who strengthens us (Philippians 4:13).  Well, enjoy your day and tell somebody…anyone about the good things He has done.  Peace~

3 thoughts on “The Compassion of Christ

Leave a Reply

