God wants us to be specific

Today, a man came up to me in the coffee shop and asked if I could do him a favor.  I responded by asking him what I can do for him.  Usually, this usually means money, and I was right.  Well, he laid it all on the table for me.  He informed me that he wanted a rotisserie chicken dinner, and then he would like to take the bus across town afterwards.  He said that all of this would cost him or me about $10.  Now, this has happened to me before in the past and I always felt that the person was arrogant or bold to ask for this ridiculous amount of free money.  Free!  Well, now I have come to realize that this is not a large amount of money.  For many of us, it is a small sacrifice.  Therefore, I gave him what he asked for.  Now, if all he asked for was spare change, then I would have given him my pocket change or maybe a dollar; however, he was specific. The Holy Spirit commanded me, and I obeyed giving him $10.  I am not sharing this to get any glory; no, glory be to God for His revelation.  He said in His word, “…You do not have, because you do not ask God” (James 4:2).  We should all take a lesson from the stranger and be specific.  Tell God exactly what you want him to know and do.  Just as the man who approached me, approach God with humility and respect.  In the end and in His time, he will give you exactly what you have asked for in faith.  Also, always treat anyone you meet on the street with kindness and respect.  Remember, there are many of us who have entertained angels without knowing.  Amen.

8 thoughts on “God wants us to be specific

  1. This is is so true and also something that a lot of people are not fully aware of. “Ask and you shall recieve.” Have faith in knowing that god heard you and when he feel’s the time is right you will recieve.

Leave a Reply

