Religious or Spiritual?

During the period of my late 20s and early 30s, I had turned my back on the God.  No, it’s not that I denounced God or cursed His name, but I stopped going to church, prayed only in times of need or trouble, and did whatever my flesh so desired. As a matter of fact, one of my favorite answers to the question of my salvation was, “I’m not religious…I’m spiritual.”  In other words, I didn’t like the structured tradition of a church environment.  Also, I felt that those in the church were not behaving in a “Christian” like way.  Otherwise, I felt that God generally watched over me and heard my prayers;  plus, I was a nice guy – a good person;  I was “spiritual.”  Now, this was coming from a preacher’s son who grew up in the church.  I had some nerve, huh? 

 As I reflect on those days when I was living for my own pleasure and running away from the Holy Spirit, I now realize that I didn’t know the true meaning of the word, “spiritual.”  Webster’s dictionary describes it as: being concerned with religious values.  Hah!  There goes my argument right there; how can I claim to have nothing to do with religion if I am so called “spiritual?”  It’s not possible.  In other words, we are either born of the Spirit, or we are of this world; we can’t be both.  Jesus states in John 3:5, “I tell you the truth, no one can enter the kingdom of God unless he is born of water and the Spirit.” 

 I now realize that our walk with Jesus Christ is personal, and it has nothing to do with what others are saying or doing.  If we base our decision to follow Christ on what man or the church is doing, then we will never follow Him.  By Grace, His Holy Spirit has allowed us to have a personal relationship with the Father.  So, are you “born of the water and Spirit?”  Have you given your life over to Christ, or are you just “spiritual?”   If you have any doubts then please say this prayer: 

 “Father, I know that I have broken your laws and my sins have separated me from you. I am truly sorry, and now I want to turn away from my past sinful life toward you. Please forgive me, and help me avoid sinning again. I believe that your son, Jesus Christ died for my sins, was resurrected from the dead, is alive, and hears my prayer. I invite Jesus to become the Lord of my life, to rule and reign in my heart from this day forward. Please send your Holy Spirit to help me obey You, and to do Your will for the rest of my life. In Jesus’ name I pray, Amen.”

 Now, if you prayed this and believe it, then you are saved.  That was easy, huh?  He has made true Salvation so easy for us, yet there are so many who won’t accept it.  I’m glad you did, and I’m definitely glad that I did.  Now, the Holy Spirit lives in you; therefore, you have been made clean and are truly “Spiritual.”  To God be the glory.

7 thoughts on “Religious or Spiritual?

  1. Amen! We can not serve God and also serve the world. We must choose which one we want to serve. What a powerful testimony my friend! God bless you for writing this and bless you for visiting my blog! I will come back often! Blessings in the name of Jesus to you!

  2. You have created such a beautiful, peaceful sanctuary here. I love it!

    “Baba Notes.” I really like that. This is just another extension of your creativity, Stephen. God has given you great gifts.

  3. These are strong, determined yet gentle words.Ii am very uncomfortable with the words the Church I was brought up in uses. I cannot say them with belief.

    You have brought so much hope to me, that I am okay, my thoughts and beliefs are okay, as are my sometimes doubts.

    You are following on from your dear Dad’s work, in your own way. Sincere well done, and onwards doing.

    Again, thank you for sharing

  4. Deb S.-
    Thank you. Yes, to God be the glory.

    Michelle-
    Thank you. I’m happy that you were able to take something from this post. I often pray and ask God to reveal Himself to me. We, of course, do that by reading His Word, the Bible. As He reveals Himself to us more and more, the doubt becomes less and less. Peace~

  5. I think you hit the nail on the head. It is personal, deeply individual, as I believe we have our own, unique experiences in this relationship. It is dogma that confuses the issues and leads to the religious intolerance evident in the world. Peace be with you.

Leave a Reply

